RPO - Italian Romance

Fri 11 October 7.30pm Theatre

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Italian Romance

MOZART Così fan tutte: Overture

MARTUCCI Notturno No.1

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.4 ‘Italian’

Gianluca Marciano Conductor

Francesca Dego Violin

Tonight’s concert celebrates Italy’s rich tradition of orchestral music. The Overture to Mozart’s sharply satirical Così fan tutte opera provides a playful opening, which gives way to  Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno No.1, with its yearning melodic lines and soothing orchestration.

A highlight of this evening will be Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto No.1 performed by Italian violinist Francesca Dego. This piece unleashes the full spectrum of the instrument and to this day is one of the most popular works in the violin repertoire. Mendelssohn’s buoyant and cheerful Symphony No.4, ‘Italian’ closes this concert with panache and flair; a charming expression of how Italy made him feel.


You may also like

Peter & the Wolf

RPO - Italian Romance

RPO Miniatures (Christmas Trombones)

RPO Miniatures (String Quintet)

RPO - Beethoven: Celebrating 250 Years

RPO Miniatures (Harp, Flute & Cello)

RPO - The Grand Tour

RPO Miniatures (Clarinet & String Quintets)

RPO - Last Night of the Proms